Yummy Yogurt Chicken and Greek Sauce

See, the sauce was a bit thick...

See, the sauce was a bit thick…

I have become a fan of cooking Greek-inspiring food. I am under no illusion it is probably anything other than Americanized versions of things that taste a lot better when made properly but let me think I’m being fancier than I am. Over the summer, I fell in love with a Beef Gyro recipe that I will share with you all next time I make it. For this week’s cooking experiment, I offer yogurt marinated chicken and greek sauce.

To start with, I love this chicken – it was easy to make and has stayed nice and moist over the last four days I have eaten it so the marinade did its work. That said, I think I left too much of the marinade on when I cooked the chicken. Make sure you get the pieces wiped down before putting them in the pan.

I am less a fan of the greek sauce but I am almost 100% positive I somehow made it wrong. It’s a lot thicker than I believe it’s supposed to be so I think I used too much mayo with it (my best guess for where I went wrong). It’s good but not great. I actually think I’d make the cucumber mint sauce for my gyros to go with this recipe and it would be delicious still!

With that caveat, I still really enjoyed this and found it very filling – I didn’t make a side to go with the wrap and always felt very satisfyingly full after finishing. I also think this is a good summer meal – it’s light and uses cucumbers and tomatoes which always seem very summery to me (that may be weird…). I also did double the recipe to make me enough chicken to get through the week so if you follow the recipe below, it should make enough for two people easy!

For the marinade:
1 large chicken breast (about 1/2 pound)
1/2 cup plain yogurt
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp salt
ground black pepper, to taste

For the Greek sauce:
4 Tbsp mayonnaise (regular or light)
1 Tbsp milk
1 Tbsp cider vinegar
3/4 tsp sugar
1/8 tsp garlic powder
Squeeze of lemon juice
salt and ground black pepper

For the chicken:
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 large garlic cloves, peeled and smashed
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1 tomato, diced
1/2 cucumber, diced
Pita bread, for serving

For the marinade, cut the chicken breasts into bite-sized cubes. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk the yogurt, olive oil, oregano, salt, and pepper until combined. Add the chicken and marinate for at least two hours, but overnight if possible.

For the Greek sauce, mix together all of the ingredients and refrigerate. Adjust seasoning according to taste before serving.

For the chicken, wipe off the excess marinade. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and oregano, and cook until fragrant and golden, about 2 minutes. Remove the garlic. Add the chicken and cook for 3 minutes without stirring. Give a quick toss and continue cooking for another 3 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked through.

To assemble, combine the chicken with desired amount of Greek Sauce, tomatoes, and cucumbers. Add salt and pepper to taste. Pile onto a piece of pita bread, fold and enjoy!

Original Recipe is at The Kitchn

 

Leave a Comment for Me!

