A tea party

So, I didn’t take any pictures at this past weekend’s Winter Tea…sorry! I think I was so worried about getting everything together that I didn’t pull out my phone to take pictures. We had the party at a friend’s house this past weekend and it was a success! I do love cooking for lots of people even though it’s nerve wracking. I made Sally Lunn buns again and tried out two new sandwiches, Cucumber and Dill and Herb Cheese. I was not a fan of the herb cheese myself but others liked it so I link to it here and I’ll share the Cucumber and Dill recipe below.

There is something so very British about cucumbers. Why is that? I have no idea so while you dwell on that, I will tell you this sandwich is delicious and less is more with how much dill you place on the top of the sandwich – it’s a powerful little spice so don’t dump a ton on over the cucumbers and spread and you’ll have a tasty sandwich with a bit of zing to it!

Picture via Pinterest but mine looked this pretty I'm sure ;-)

Picture via Pinterest but mine looked this pretty I’m sure 😉

Cucumber and Dill Sandwiches

[Note: this recipe makes quite a bit of the spread so be generous with it!]

Ingredients:
2 medium size cucumbers
1 tub (8 oz.) whipped cream cheese
shaker of dill weed
1 packet dry Italian dressing mix
wheat or rye bread

Directions:
Wash cucumbers. Leave stripes of green along the side but remove the rest of the skin. Slice as thinly as you can (about 1/4″ thick slices)

In a small bowl, mix the cream cheese and dry Italian dressing mix; combine well.

Spread the cream cheese mixture onto the bread of your choice (crusts optional!), lay cucumber slices over the spread and sprinkle dill over the cucumbers sparingly.

Cut sandwiches into triangles and serve!

[Original recipe from Cooks.com]

Leave a Comment for Me!

