Asian Glazed Chicken

I love Chinese food. Well, you know, the Americanized version we have here. I adore it. I don’t even care that it probably one of the worst things I could eat, I love it. So, one would ask why I haven’t tried to cook it. Mainly, I was a bit afraid. Afraid it would not be as good I tried fried rice in the past, several different recipes actually, nothing ever comes out quite as good. Which probably means it was better for me anyway.

That said, in my effort to start cooking again (because that has just gone completely off the rails), I thought I’d dig into those Asian inspired recipes I’d been accumulating and try one of them. Maybe I would be pleasantly surprised! My first one out of the gate though does not inspire much confidence in me.

For starters, I think I maybe did something wrong. The pictures accompanying the original recipe on Eat at Home looked so much more appealing to me that what I ended up with. Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a bad recipe, it’s just sort of an “eh” recipe. I could eat what I made but I don’t really feel the need to ever make it again. I wish the glaze was less syrupy, more of a honey consistency – again, this could have been a mistake on my part but I thought I did everything correctly. Why don’t you all try it and see what you find?

IMG_3951

Actually, in re-visiting the photo, mine doesn’t look half bad!

Ingredients:

For the chicken:
4 large chicken breasts, boneless and skinless
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup milk
1/2 tsp garlic powder
scallions & sesame seeds to garnish

For the glaze:
1/2 soy sauce
1/4 cup honey
1 tsp ground ginger
1 Tbsp sesame oil
1/4 cup rice vinegar
1/4 cup sliced scallions
1 Tbsp sesame seeds

Instructions:

  1. For the glaze, combine all ingredients and set aside.
  2. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and spray a baking dish with cooking spray (I used a 7×11 Pyrex)
  3. Whisk together flour, milk and garlic powder in a deep, medium bowl. Place one chicken breast into the batter at a time, coating thoroughly. Place into the baking dish.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes, then remove from oven and spoon 1/4 of the glaze onto the chicken. Return to oven for another 10 minutes. Remove from oven and spoon another 1/4 of the glaze onto the chicken. Return to the oven for another 10 minutes or until the chicken is done (no longer pink).
  5. Place chicken on serving dish and sprinkle with remaining scallions and sesame seeds. Use leftover glaze as a dipping sauce with the meal.

Original recipe is found at Eat at Home.

One thought on “Asian Glazed Chicken

Leave a Comment for Me!

