Chicken Gyros

I found a recipe for beef gyros last year that I adore but hadn’t found a good recipe for chicken gyros. I had plenty in my Recipes to Try folder but just hadn’t actually found one that sounded good. With my new kick on trying Hungry Girl recipes, they had one for Chicken Gyros that made my menu for this week.

This is a really easy recipe to put together and I like that I could do it in stages. I made the sauce and then cut up all the vegetables for the toppings and then made the marinade for the chicken. I then was able to clean up the kitchen while the chicken marinaded before starting cooking the chicken. I do like when I don’t feel like a recipe thinks I can be doing four different things at the same time!

The chicken came out so tasty; juicy and well marinated. The lemon juice balances well with the oregano and garlic. For the sauce, I used dried dill instead of fresh and I think I got the amount a bit off – my sauce is a bit more dill-y then I would like but not bad. I would spring for the fresh dill next time I make this. In general, this was a delightful recipe; perfect for late spring, early summer. I paired it with a cup of raspberries for dessert đŸ™‚

IMG_4168 IMG_4169

The original recipe at Hungry Girl is here; I followed it mostly. I did double the recipe to make enough to take me through the week and I left off the feta cheese (the one kind of cheese that I am not a fan of).

Ingredients:
Sauce
1/4 cup plain fat-free Greek yogurt
3 tbsp. peeled and finely chopped cucumber
1 1/2 tsp. chopped fresh dill
1 tsp. lemon juice
1/4 tsp. chopped garlic
1/8 tsp. salt

Marinade and Chicken
1/3 cup lemon juice
1 1/4 tsp. dried oregano
1 tsp. chopped garlic
1/8 tsp. salt
8 oz. raw boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into 1-inch cubes

Gyros
2 high-fiber pitas
1/4 cup chopped cucumber
1/4 cup halved cherry tomatoes

Directions:
In a medium bowl, combine all sauce ingredients, and mix well. Cover and refrigerate.

To make the marinade, in a small bowl, mix lemon juice, oregano, garlic, and salt. Place cubed chicken in a large sealable plastic bag, and cover with marinade. Seal and refrigerate for at least 20 minutes.

Bring a grill pan (or skillet) sprayed with nonstick spray to medium-high heat. Add chicken, and discard marinade.

Cook chicken for 4 minutes. Flip chicken, and cook for about 4 more minutes, until cooked through.

To assemble the gyros, microwave pitas for 20 seconds, or until warm and pliable. In a medium bowl, mix cucumber, tomatoes, and feta cheese.

Plate pitas, and spread the centers with sauce. Top with cooked chicken and cucumber mixture. Fold and eat!

MAKES 2 SERVINGS

Leave a Comment for Me!

