Round Up of the Last Month

Life always seems to get in the way of me blogging. It never fails but I lose a month!

So, what have I been up to? Well, a good two weeks, I had a miserable cold. You know those awful late spring/early summer colds that make you wish it was still cold and rainy out so the rest of the world has to be miserable with you? I had one of those and the thing just would not go away. I still have a slight runny nose from it. Not fun.

From my Instagram feed, Miami Beach last week

From my Instagram feed, Miami Beach last week

I am also just back from a week long trip to Miami – my first. I was there to attend and present at the Society of Florida Archivists Annual Meeting but I also got to see South Beach and Ocean Avenue and frolicked for a bit at Books & Books (I have become a bookstore tourist and I see nothing wrong with that). I liked Miami more than I expected to but most of my time was spend in the Coral Gables/Coconut Grove area so it was really nice. I also want to import their lovely sea breeze that was omnipresent while I was there. Tallahassee could really use that as we never have a breeze.

I have also been running…well, jogging…well, mostly walking and then sort of jogging. My sister has talked me into a 5K on July 4th here in town so I have to get myself into some sort of shape to run/walk that without dying. It fits in nicely with my new health/fitness goals after the lecture to end all lectures from my doctor last physical so it’s not a bad thing but I still loathe running. Tell me runners, at some point will I stop hating it and learn to love the bomb?!

And, as usual, I have been reading though not as much as usual. When I am sick, I tend to simply want to lie like a slug on my couch and indulge in marathons on Netflix. This past cold it was Kitchen Nightmares and America: The Story of Us for some reason. However, I finished a few:

The Club Dumas which left me sort of eh in the end. On Goodreads, I noted “I think I missed the point of this book. I did like it but I’m not sure I could tell you what actually happened in the end…” Now, about a month after I read it, I only vaguely even remember what it was about so clearly it did not make a lasting impression.

Jane Austen and Food was delightful. It was a scholarly book of essays – read like someone’s dissertation spruced up a bit for publication but it was fascinating. Jane doesn’t tell you much about her characters and food but what is there was neat to see dissected into what it means and relate it back to what we know was Jane’s relationship with food outside her novels.

I sneaked in a Hercule Poirot, Dumb Witness, that’s been in my to-read drawer of my nightstand one night. Agatha Christie is always a good idea.

State of Wonder by Ann Patchett was the book I picked up when I saw her speak at the very rainy Tallahassee Literary Festival we had back in April. Here’s what I said on Goodreads: “This is quite lyrical; the story itself is a bit odd and ends rather abruptly with lots of loose ends (not my favorite thing at the end of a book – I like tidy endings) but it didn’t erk me terribly here because it’s delivered well and also fits the tone of the book. It’s a slow story, beautiful and meandering so the fact that it goes out quietly is not surprising and fits well with its story and characters.”

Then I read three books that were kind of eh again – one actually just made me mad in the end and another one I didn’t even finish because it annoyed me so much so they will go unnamed and unnoted.

I just finished The City of Dark Magic last night. It was fantastic. And hard to describe really at the end of the day. The back cover calls it a paranormal rom-com suspense novel. It also has a healthy dose of the ridiculous in it and was a bit raunchier than I usually read but I really enjoyed it and it made me laugh out loud a lot – always the sign of a good fun read.

I am deviating a bit right now from my reading goal for the year (one fiction, one non-fiction) because the to-read drawer of my nightstand is overflowing. I’m going to take some time to read through those now but I will pepper it with non-ficition when I feel like it. Like the next book on deck, The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage. I’ve been waiting for this book to come out for what seems forever so no way am I waiting to dive into it (plus it’s due back at the library so the other books can chill on the nightstand for a bit longer!)

Leave a Comment for Me!

