Rough Start 2016

It’s been a rough start to 2016 for me. We suddenly lost a family member last week and so it was a week of scrambling home in the aftermath of Winter Storm Jonas and being home in sorrow which was very new to me.

I have returned south with a lovely sinus issue (never fails when I go home) but am getting back to my reading goals. I did complete a few more books in my quest to finish series this year though. Reading on the plane is the best:

The Golden One (Amelia Peabody #14). How many ways can I state how much I adore the Emerson-Peabody clan? At least a few more. This adventure sees them yet again in the throes of mystery and intrigue both for their work and for the Great War as it continues around them. I did find this installment slightly disjointed however. But, Sethos is back again so all is right.

The Wells Bequest (The Grimm Legacy #2). This series continues to be delightful. It centers around the New York Circulating-Material Repository which is as cool as it sounds. This installment sees our pages using H.G. Wells’ Time Machine to travel back to 1895 New York and stop one of their own from changing Tesla’s timeline. I think I like this series so much as well because it manages to write pre-teens who don’t consistantly annoy me while reading.

Beastly Bones (Jackaby #2). Just as good as the first. Abigail Rook is like a grownup Charlotte Doyle on land and working for detective R.F. Jackaby (think a cross between the Supernatural brothers and the Doctor with a dash of Sherlock for good measure). This time around, we’re hunting dragons people and it is fantastic.

On deck for my reading is the next book in the Amelia Peabody series, the last currently out for the Grimm Legacy books and Scarlet, book #2 for the Lunar Chronicles (full disclosure: I will need to hit up wikipedia to help me remember what Cinder was about…I do have a vague recollection but it’s very vague). I am starting out with some low hanging fruit it’s true. Trying to ease my way into reading for the year!

 

Leave a Comment for Me!

