Tasty Orange Chicken

I love a good chicken dish with just a little bit of spice and lots of rice. This recipe delivers and it was quick and easy to make. What else do I like? My crock pot. I adore when I can throw some ingredients in a pot and forget about them for awhile. One thing I think I may have slightly screwed up with this recipe is the sauce never got very thick. It tastes awesome and I like it being on the lighter side so maybe it did “thicken” as much as it was supposed to? Either way, I recommend trying this one!

IMG_5465

I roughly chopped my onions; if you finely chop, they would be a lot less visible (which may or may not be important to you) 

Original recipe from Skinny Kitchen

Ingredients:

⅔ cup regular brown rice (I used instant and made a 4-serving size batch)
1¼ pounds chicken breasts, boneless skinless
1 cup onions, chopped
½ cup frozen orange juice concentrate
½ cup barbecue sauce (I used Sweet Baby Ray’s)
1½ tablespoons reduced sodium soy sauce
2 teaspoons fresh garlic, chopped
1 teaspoon ground ginger
⅛ teaspoon red pepper flakes

Directions:

  1. Add chicken to crock-pot. Place onions on top.
  2. In a small bowl add frozen orange juice concentrate. Heat in microwave for about 20 seconds until mostly thawed. Stir in barbecue sauce, soy sauce, garlic, ginger and red pepper flakes. Mix well. Pour sauce over chicken. Cover and cook on high heat for about 2-2½ hours. *Note: Cook times vary depending on your crock-pot. Mine took about 2 hours total to cook.
  3. When fully cooked, remove chicken from crock pot to a plate. Shred chicken.
  4. Add orange sauce to a small pot. Bring to a boil, turn down to simmer and cook uncovered for about 8 minutes to thicken.
  5. Prep and cook rice per instant rice instructions (or if you’re a better person, make according to instructions on the bag of rice – usually about 30 minutes cook time)
  6. 5. To Serve: Add ½ cup rice to a plate or bowl. Place ¾ cup chicken on rice. Spoon about 3-4 tablespoons of sauce over the top.

Makes 5 servings (each serving, ¾ cup chicken, ½ cup rice and about 3-4 tablespoons sauce)

Leave a Comment for Me!

