Adventures in Cooking: My First Curry

As I continue to work my way through the many recipes I’ve managed to stock away in Evernote, my email and the good old fashioned recipe box, I have found I collect certain types of recipes a lot but never actually make them. This weekend I tackled my first curry.

I apparently liked the idea of making a curry; I had no less than 6 different chicken curry recipes saved. I chose this one because it seemed the most straightforward recipe and made use of the slow cooker. On a Sunday when I wanted to prep and cook a few other things, the crock pot was a must.

This recipe did not disappoint. It went together easily, cooked beautifully and was delicious. I am a wimp when it comes to spice/heat in my food and this curry is quite mild but does have a slight kick to it that makes it different from my usual fare which I wanted. I am getting a little bored of my usual go-to meals. I recommend picking up some naan bread and serving this with brown rice. It is delicious and makes tons for leftovers!

Ingredients:

3 lbs. boneless chicken (I used more like 2 1/2 pounds and still had tons)
1 onion, chopped
1 cup salsa (I used mild)
3 Tbsp curry powder
1 can coconut milk (I used lite coconut milk to save some calories)
2 cups rice, cooked (I used brown rice)

Directions

  1. Place chicken, onion, salsa and curry powder in slow cooker.
  2. Cook on high 5-6 hours or low 7-8 hours.
  3. 15 minutes before serving remove chicken from slow cooker.
  4. Add coconut milk to slow cooker. Stir into sauce.
  5. Return chicken to pot.
  6. Serve over cooked rice.

Serves 6-8

Recipe originally from Eat at Home Cooks.

Leave a Comment for Me!

