Quotes from Books

I have always been a big collector of quotes. Quotes from books, from movies, and from friends (do the kids still keep track of funny things friends say? We used to hang long pieces of paper on the wall in our dorm rooms and apartments in undergrad…maybe they just use SnapChat now…). Book quotes however are some of my favorites and GoodReads is magical and let’s you keep a running list of your favorites. So, for today’s reading, here are some I adore that you might not have come across yet (i.e. I went with books that aren’t the classics):

“Whenever I saw the sun, I reminded myself that I was looking at a star. One of over a hundred billion in our galaxy. A galaxy that was just one of billions of other galaxies in the observable universe. This helped me keep things in perspective.” – Ready Player One

“Most maidens are perfectly capable of rescuing themselves in my experience, at least the ones worth something, in any case.” – The Night Circus

“I didn’t set out to discover a truth. I was actually sent to the Outer Fringes to conduct a chair census and learn some humility. But the truth inevitably found me, as important truths often do, like a lost thought in need of a mind.” – Shades of Grey

“Molly stood up. You made an error! She felt like saying. A bad throw. So what? It’s a baseball game. A game. Who really cares? A bad throw? In the great scheme of things? A bad throw? Of course she didn’t say that. She understood that your own errors always feel tragic.” – The Girl Who Threw Butterflies

“It’s against my principles to buy a book I haven’t read, it’s like buying a dress you haven’t tried on.” – 84, Charing Cross Road

“It’s funny. Dev had always said disposables were different. That what they contained was more special because you couldn’t instantly see inside. You had to wait. You had to invest in the moment and then wait to see what you got. And those moments had to be the right moments. You had to be sure you wanted this moment when you pressed the button, because time was always running out, you were always one click closer to the end. That’s what it felt like here. But that’s what made it exciting. I looked at the tin number at the top of the wheel. 1. Eleven more clicks. What would they be? Who’d be in them? What story would they tell?” – Charlotte Street

“Usually when I enter a bookstore, I feel immediately calm. Bookstores are, for me, what churches are for other people. My breath gets slower and deeper as I peruse the shelves. I believe that books contain messages I am meant to receive. I’m not normally superstitious, but I’ve even had books fall from shelves and land at my feet. Books are my missives from the universe.” – The Family Fortune

“So often, Jackaby said, people think that when we arrive at a crossroads, we can choose only one path, but as I have often and articulately postulated people are stupid. We’re not walking the path. We are the path. We are all of the roads and all of the intersections. Of course you can choose both.” – Beastly Bones

“She would be brave. She would be heroic. She would make her own destiny.” – Winter

Leave a Comment for Me!

