Back on Track…sort of

I am slowly making my way back around to my book challenge for the year. I chose some low hanging fruit (i.e. books I knew I could read in a day) to get myself started up again. I also went through and rearranged my to-read list a bit (some series had escaped me!). I have more left than I thought but I’ll do the best I can!

Low hanging fruit for me meant I could plow through some historical romance novels that were series-based. They are my potato chips of the book world. They are so bad for me and yet delicious and I love them and I can read a ton of them really quickly. So reading through 5 of them in the last two weeks makes me feel like I am getting somewhere!

9627755

I like the redesigns of all the covers for the last book; they are dreamy [from Goodreads]

But, I also finished a series! Go me! Anna and the French Kiss I read awhile back but it was the start of a trilogy (of course) so this week I finished up the other two books. Anna remains my favorite but these other two, Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After were delightful except well…I am feeling my age. Let me explain. These are essentially chick lit novels for the teenage set. So, they are drama filled. To the max. Where drama doesn’t actually really need to exist. The characters are charming and clever but they’re also 18. And we’re idiots when we’re 18. We make the smallest problems into the biggest nightmares. Rather than talking out a concern with the person we love, we panic, break up with our boyfriend and run off to Paris while melodramatically weeping everywhere and driving our quirky best friend nuts. So in that, the series is quite believable but reading two of the books in quick succession also meant I felt old. However, one of the bonuses of the series, well of the first and last books anyway, is the city of Paris is as much a character as the rest and visiting the City of Lights is, after all, always a good idea.

Next up, more steampunk hijinks from an awesome finishing school on a dirigible and then back to Oz to see if Amy can finally kill Dorothy.

Leave a Comment for Me!

