On the road again…

I have a lot of travel back scheduled into this year. And on top of that, busy work schedules, a fun sinus infection and other various commitments and you get this, my first post in a month being written in an airport during a 3 hour layover. I swear I’m still here!

And still chugging away on my reading goal for the year. I have surpassed my GoodReads Challenge total for the year (I’m currently on book 98 out of the 85 I wrote in for the challenge) so that one’s crossed off the list. My quest to finish half-started series though is still moving along as best I can. I got a little side-tracked for a bit (again). I’ll have gotten a good chunk done and off my list. I can’t decide if I want to keep up that challenge for the first part of the upcoming new year or if I want to go down one of the other paths of my to-read list that I’ve been brainstorming (the books on there the longest, pick a genre, a topic, an author etc.). All that aside, here’s what I’ve been reading (well, most of it; I spare you the many romance novels I sneak in everywhere) since we last spoke:

The Serpent on the Crown (Amelia Peabody #17): I have been savoring this series. Mainly because after many years, I am on homestretch. Once I get to #19, that’s all she wrote (literally). I was bummed to find out, #19 is one of the novels that takes the family back in time to fill in gaps Elizabeth Peters skipped earlier in the series so #18 will actually be the “last” story of the Peabodys in the 1920s. I’ll miss Amelia; one of my most favorite literary role models. But I still have two books up my sleeve for this series so I’m going to drag it out.

The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches (Flavia de Luce #6): Flavia remains one of my favorites as well but she’s becoming increasingly a character who needs a big sister in her life. Ironically, she has 2 of them but Flavia is marked and this chapter finally explains why she is so separated from her family. This installment was also, what’s the right word? Painful to read at times. Flavia goes down a dark path for a while, one in which she desperately needed a big sister to stop her from and that was hard to read. She’s having some major growing pains and I hope the author can steer her through and still keep Flavia all the best parts of herself.

The Unusual Suspects (The Sisters Grimm #2): This is one of those series I had forgotten about and then was bummed I had because it’s lovely, fun, imaginative and also, somehow, realistic (unlike the Into the Wild series which has a similar fairy tale trope and which I abandoned after 50 pages because every character was annoying me and I can’t imagine how I liked the first book). We have a main character in that fun early stage of her teenage years here which can be annoying but she had only a mild case of Book 5 Harry Potter Syndrome. She’s also surrounded by such fabulous characters and a story that gets more intriguing by the second that I survived her. Also, there is a teenage Puck in these books; what is not to like?

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter #8…sort of): I must have started at least 3 different blog posts about this book on its own and I just…can’t articulate my reactions to this book very well. I enjoyed it; I liked the idea behind it. I, as I always expected, adored Scorpius Malfoy, wanted to smack Albus because he’s just like his father and want to SEE this. I think just reading it does it an injustice. That said, I am one of those fans that finished the HP stories in my own head a long time ago and I had a hard time adjusting my mind to this ending Rowling has endorsed. I have my own stories for James, Albus and Lily, not to mention Rose Granger-Weasley and Scorpius Malfoy. And to be honest…I like my endings better. So while I liked this, I appreciated it, I would LOVE to get to see it realized on stage someday, I think I’ll just keep my own stories for the kids as my canon and go on my merry way.

Changeless (Parasol Protectorate #2): This broke my heart but I abandoned this. I adored the Finishing School series by the same author (see last blog post) but I remember struggling to like the first book in this series as well and the second book fared no better. I didn’t like the characters, the story was moving at the pace of molasses and…it wasn’t giving me what I wanted. What I wanted was the Finishing School characters to pop up, to give me some sort of connection to this storyline and why I should care and it just wasn’t happening. It’s on my try-again someday list though so maybe 3rd time will be the charm with this series.

The Dead Ladies Project: Exiles, Ex-Pats, and Ex-Countries: I ran out of room in my to-read drawer when I bought a new book so a book needed to come out. Considering this one has been in there since last November, it seemed like its time had come. I don’t think I would like this author if I ever met her; she is need of someone who would be more sympathetic that I would be. To be frank, a friend who’d smack her, tell her to get over herself and to start by showing her married lover the door, would probably be a good idea right about now. However, I liked the stories she told around the places she was living and the authors she chose to see her new home in a different light. I learned a lot about authors and composers I didn’t know before and, to be honest, about cities I had never heard of. I liked the use of literature and geography to explore her story but her story seemed overcomplicated by…her. A lot of angst going on it this book but if you plow through that, the idea is very cool.

Ghostly Echoes (Jackaby #3): I literally finished this an hour ago (writing on Sunday in an airport remember) and I need the next book NOW. This series is one of my current favorites. It has fabulous heroines, magic, mystery, a hint of romance and a delightful supernatural detective who gets better with each book. In this latest story, Jackaby and his intrepid crew of mortal and immortal gumshoes are getting closer to figuring out who the Big Bad is that’s been leading them on a merry chase for 3 books now. I loved seeing Jenny, the resident ghost of the crew, get some answers in this book as well as see her come into her own. The strength of Jenny has always been hinted at but it was awesome to get to see her kick some ass and take some names in this book. One of the best things about this series is the strength of its heroines (and its villainess) and it’s wonderful to see the series keep building on that strength.

Leave a Comment for Me!

