Last Minute Drive-By Reviews

I am feeling like I usually did right before winter break in school. Anxious to get things done, excited for what is coming and really unmotivated to do the before said work. It’ll get done but I’m not moving very fast on it. I’ve done my yearly round-up of reading on Goodreads already and I did pretty good on my goal to finish series this year. I started with a pretty hefty list and I have only 24 books I didn’t get to. Considering I deviated periodically and also added books onto the list for a series I wanted to continue, I did pretty well for myself! I’ve also knocked two more out since I last did reviews so onwards:

Silent in the Sanctuary (Lady Julia Grey #2): I liked this book better than the first in the series. You get a really good look at Julia’s kooky family in all their glory here and it is hilarious. I laughed out loud quite a few times which isn’t something you expect to do in a murder mystery. I also liked the ambiguity of right and wrong in this book which again, is not something I usually like. I prefer when my fiction is uncomplicated however here, one of the culprits gets away free as a bird and commits another murder we learn much later. Yet somehow we’re OK with that within the framework of the narrative; those people could technically have deserved to die because of information we have. I think the name Grey is a good moniker for more than one reason for Julia and her series. Also, Brisbane, the series’ reluctant hero, continues to be annoying and delightful at the same time.

Charmed (Fairy Tale Reform School #2): As my Goodreads review put it “Gilly hon, that was a bit rough at times but believable. Just glad you remembered your friends in the end!” This suffered a bit, as series do, from some growing pains. However, a more delightful cast of misfits you’d be hard pressed to fit in middle grade/YA lit right now in my opinion. Our (mostly) reformed students all earn their freedom from school in the end of the story but the epilogue assures us that is really only temporary as they’re so easily bored…

An Inquiry into Love and Death: the author Simone St. James is very good at evoking a ghostly atmosphere in her books. I liked this one a bit better than The Haunting of Maddy Clare. Jillian is the sort of heroine I enjoy; smart but human. She puts together the pieces just as fast as the reader and is as scared as the reader is when the ghosts are present as well as the very human villain. What I enjoyed and found ironic is the reasons behind the villain’s actions are villainous to some extent because he believes World War II is inevitable and the heroine thinks that is impossible. That the world would never go to war again. It is both charming and sad to know what is headed for Jillian. Oh, and she has a pretty fabulous hero (but only in fiction; in real life, he would be as big a jerk as he says he is).

Delicious!: This book was a delightful read, and I read it fast. It has so much good food! I was so hungry reading it! That said, it wasn’t perfect. It’s, quite rightly, separated into 3 “books” inside it and maybe was trying to juggle a lot of plot, a lot more that it could handle at times. It also had a borderline annoying heroine. You know, one those absolutely perfect, talented beautiful heroines who thinks she isn’t even though everyone is constantly telling her she is. They get worrisome after a while. But the story is good enough to work through that in my opinion.

Leave a Comment for Me!

