First Recipe of 2017

I am slowly working my way into 2017. For some reason, my brain is having a hard time leaving vacation mode and returning to adulting mode. I’ll get there; it just slow going.

However, one place I needed to get back on track was cooking. I think because I felt blah most of the end of 2017 between sinus infections and traveling and just plain ennui with the year, I got away from cooking healthy meals. My scale is now reflecting that and that is not good. So, back to meal planning I go! I started with a recipe I saved forever ago from one of my favorite go-to healthy recipe sites, Hungry Girl.

I should also note Tallahassee is having its winter this week so this recipe was the perfect sort of winter treat. The cheese in the apple-onion mixture makes the filling actually stay put in the rolled chicken and cook up nice and juicy. I will admit mine did not roll as nicely as the picture on the website but my food never looks that good. As long as it tastes good, I am happy! I also doubled the recipe to make enough leftovers for dinner the next three nights. I paired it with a side of vegetables and found it a very filling meal and perfect for chillier weather!

Stuffed Apple-Onion Chicken

Ingredients:

1/3 cup finely chopped Fuji apple
1/3 cup finely chopped onion
1/2 tsp. chopped garlic
1 wedge The Laughing Cow Light Creamy Swiss cheese
Two 5-oz. raw boneless skinless chicken breast cutlets, pounded to 1/4-inch thickness
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. black pepper
1/8 tsp. garlic powder
1/8 tsp. onion powder [Note: I thought I had this in my spice rack and found I did not…I like the taste of what I made so leaving this out does not take away from the dish]

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray an 8″ X 8″ baking pan with nonstick spray. [Note: As I doubled the recipe, I used a 7″ x 11″ baking pan]
  2. Bring a skillet sprayed with nonstick spray to medium heat. Add apple, onion, and garlic. Cook and stir until softened, about 4 minutes.
  3. Transfer apple mixture to a medium bowl. Add cheese wedge, breaking it into pieces, and stir until it has melted and coated the apple mixture.
  4. Season chicken with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder.
  5. Evenly divide onion-apple mixture between the centers of the chicken cutlets. Roll up each chicken cutlet over the mixture. If needed, secure with toothpicks. Place in the baking pan.
  6. Cover pan with foil, and bake for 20 minutes.
  7. Remove foil. Bake until chicken is cooked through, about 15 minutes. [Note: Mine took about 20-25 minutes to cook through but I am pretty sure I didn’t pound them flat enough and I doubled the recipe so that is probably why…]
2 thoughts on “First Recipe of 2017

Leave a Comment for Me!

