Happy (belated) 65th Anniversary to a Personal Fave

On Sunday of last weekend, I headed to the movie theater. Not for a new release (though have you all seen Hidden Figures yet? If you haven’t, what it wrong with you!? Get you to the movie theater!) but for an old classic.

It was the 65th anniversary of the release of one of my all time favorite films. I can remember my dad calling me out to watch it many years ago, saying with a casual, “I think you’ll like this.” I was already taking ballet lessons but I am pretty sure Singin’ in the Rain ensured that tap would get added to my lineup really fast. In fact, tap would remain my favorite and I think in no small part because I wanted to be Debbie Reynolds in this film.

This movie makes me grin like an idiot from start to finish. I know all the words, I know all the tap sounds (to the point that while listening to the soundtrack, I can tap out the dancing correctly – just the sounds mind you. My aspirations to be a tapping great did not go well). While people will wax poetic, correctly, over the title number or the Broadway Melody segment, for me, it’s always got to be “Moses Supposes” segment. It remains to this day my all time favorite dance number in any film or stage show I’ve ever seen. And I like to think I’ve seen a lot by this time. So, toast a belated happy anniversary to Singin’ in the Rain and enjoy the following:

Leave a Comment for Me!

